Chicken Soup “Tinola”

The weather is cold and my mom wanted me to make a soup for our dinner. So I have decided to make a famous Filipino dish named “Tinola”.

I started cooking when I was just 11 years old. Nowadays, I am the one who is always assigned to cook for the family. When I was little I learned to cooked from watching different cooking shows and also sneaking to the kitchen and asking my mom or dad of what are the different ingredients that they will need to make the dish that they are making, I also remember each step that they do to make the food taste so good. I also visit different sites to make my dish different from theirs. So here is my simple chicken soup that will surely make your cold day.

Ingredients:

  • fresh chicken (cut into serving pieces)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2-inch piece of ginger (sliced)
  • 1 onion (diced)
  • 5 cloves of garlic (minced)
  • 1 green papaya (seeded, peeled, and cut into wedges)
  • 6 cups of rice water
  • different seasonings (salt, pepper, chicken stock cubes, all-purpose seasoning)

Directions:

Heat the olive oil in a pot over medium heat. Make sure that the pot is hot so ingredients will not stick on it. Sauté the garlic until its golden brown in color, add onions and ginger sauté it for about 30 seconds. Now spread the 3 ingredients in the pot and add the chicken. The chicken should be brown in color to seal some of its juices. Add the rice water, increase the heat to high, cover the pot and bring it to a boil for about 20 minutes. Add the different seasoning to taste, the seasonings will depend on your taste. It is better if you taste your dish from time to time to check the taste. Add the green papaya and let it simmer for 10 more minutes. Remove from the pot and the Chicken Soup “Tinola” is now ready to served. Its time for a sip!

Leave a Reply

